History Lord John Series - Diana Gabaldon

Thảo luận trong 'Sách tiếng nước ngoài' bắt đầu bởi love_westman, 1/10/13.

  1. love_westman

    love_westman Mầm non


    The Lord John Series 4-Book Bundle: Lord John and the Private Matter, Lord John and the Hand of Devils, Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade, The Scottish Prisoner (Lord John Grey)
    by Diana Gabaldon

    Diana Gabaldon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Outlander series, delivers captivating tales of history, intrigue, and suspense that feature one of her most popular characters: Lord John Grey. This thrilling eBook collection—featuring three novels and one collection of novellas—follows Lord John as he defends his country, ferrets out spies, and unravels a haunting family mystery.


    “Packed with vivid description and detail . . . transports readers to eighteenth-century London.”—BookPage

    London, 1757. Lord John Grey, a nobleman and a high-ranking officer in His Majesty’s army, has just witnessed something shocking. But his efforts to avoid a scandal are interrupted when the Crown appoints him to investigate the brutal murder of a comrade-in-arms. Obliged to pursue two inquiries at once, Major Grey finds himself ensnared in a web of betrayal that touches every stratum of English society—and threatens all he holds dear.

    A Collection of Novellas

    “Gabaldon’s strengths are on full display.”—Kirkus Reviews

    In Lord John and the Hellfire Club, Lord John glimpses a stranger at a gentleman’s club—and is drawn into a maze of political treachery and a dangerous underground society. In Lord John and the Succubus, English soldiers in combat are rattled by a lethal creature that appears at night, and Lord John is called to investigate. In Lord John and the Haunted Soldier, Lord John is thrust into a baffling case that forces him to confront the prospect that a traitor is among the ranks of His Majesty’s armed forces.


    “First-rate . . . [Gabaldon’s] writing is always vivid and often lyrical.”—The Washington Post

    It’s been seventeen years since Lord John’s father was found dead, accusations of his role as a Jacobite agent staining the family’s name. Now, Lord John’s brother has mysteriously received a page of their father’s lost diary, convincing John that someone knows the Greys’ secrets. So he turns to the only man he can trust: the Scottish Jacobite Jamie Fraser. But when Jamie yields the missing piece of an astounding puzzle, Lord John must decide whether his family’s honor is worth his life.


    “Engrossing . . . masterfully paced, with exciting plot twists, swift reversals, and robust characterizations.”—The Globe and Mail

    London, 1760. Paroled prisoner Jamie Fraser has sworn off politics, fighting, and war. Until Lord John Grey shows up with documents that expose a damning case of corruption against a British officer. But they also hint at a more insidious danger. Soon Lord John and Jamie are companions on the road to Ireland, a country whose dark castles hold dreadful secrets, and whose bogs hide the bones of the dead.


    John William Grey is a recurring secondary character in the Outlander series and the protagonist of his own series, both of which are written by Diana Gabaldon.

    He first appeared in Dragonfly in Amber as a sixteen-year-old English soldier, though not yet commissioned, who chanced upon Jamie and Claire Fraser on the eve of the battle of Prestonpans. He made subsequent appearances in Voyager, Drums of Autumn, A Breath of Snow and Ashes and An Echo in the Bone, and showed up through a series of letters to Jamie and his family in The Fiery Cross. He has also appeared in a series of his own books that all take place during the time in Voyager in which Jamie is at Helwater. Though the Lord John stories and the main Outlander books can be understood independently of each other, there are events in each that will be more thoroughly and he was asain The Lord John books are shorter and focus on fewer plot threads than the main Outlander books, and can be generally categorized as mysteries. Lord John is a commissioned officer, a loyal British subject, a man of honor, and a homosexual at a time and place where that is a capital crime, creating a variety of internal and external conflicts. Though Lord John does have relationships and liaisons in these books, these are not the main focus of the books, which are primarily mysteries.

    Các file đính kèm:

    Last edited by a moderator: 21/4/15

Chia sẻ trang này