Detective The Cuckoo's Calling, The Silkworm (Cormoran Strike series#1,#2) - Robert Galbraith aka J.K. Rowling

Thảo luận trong 'Sách tiếng nước ngoài' bắt đầu bởi assam1719, 30/9/13.

  1. assam1719

    assam1719 Lớp 12

    Thân gửi mọi người tác phẩm trinh thám đầu tiên của JK Rowling.


    The Cuckoo's Calling (Cormoran Strike #1)
    by Robert Galbraith (Pseudonym), J.K. Rowling

    The Cuckoo's Calling is a 2013 crime fiction novel by J. K. Rowling, published under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith.

    A brilliant mystery in a classic vein: Detective Cormoran Strike investigates a supermodel's suicide.
    After losing his leg to a land mine in Afghanistan, Cormoran Strike is barely scraping by as a private investigator. Strike is down to one client, and creditors are calling. He has also just broken up with his longtime girlfriend and is living in his office.

    Then John Bristow walks through his door with an amazing story: His sister, thelegendary supermodel Lula Landry, known to her friends as the Cuckoo, famously fell to her death a few months earlier. The police ruled it a suicide, but John refuses to believe that. The case plunges Strike into the world of multimillionaire beauties, rock-star boyfriends, and desperate designers, and it introduces him to every variety of pleasure, enticement, seduction, and delusion known to man.

    You may think you know detectives, but you've never met one quite like Strike. You may think you know about the wealthy and famous, but you've never seen them under an investigation like this.

    When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case.

    Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger . . .

    A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.

    Vui lòng đăng nhập hoặc đăng ký để xem link

    Nguồn: mAihu0ng_1811 (TVE)
    Chỉnh sửa cuối: 25/11/13
  2. thanhbt

    thanhbt Học sinh Thành viên BQT


    The Silkworm (Cormoran Strike #2)
    by Robert Galbraith (Pseudonym), J.K. Rowling

    Published June 24th 2014

    Private investigator Cormoran Strike returns in a new mystery from Robert Galbraith, author of the #1 international bestsellerThe Cuckoo's Calling.

    When novelist Owen Quine goes missing, his wife calls in private detective Cormoran Strike. At first, Mrs. Quine just thinks her husband has gone off by himself for a few days—as he has done before—and she wants Strike to find him and bring him home.

    But as Strike investigates, it becomes clear that there is more to Quine's disappearance than his wife realizes. The novelist has just completed a manuscript featuring poisonous pen-portraits of almost everyone he knows. If the novel were to be published, it would ruin lives—meaning that there are a lot of people who might want him silenced.

    When Quine is found brutally murdered under bizarre circumstances, it becomes a race against time to understand the motivation of a ruthless killer, a killer unlike any Strike has encountered before...

    Các file đính kèm:

  3. NQK

    NQK Lớp 8

    Cụ nào có tập ba "Career of Evil" thì cho em xin luôn nhé.
    antigone thích bài này.
  4. NQK

    NQK Lớp 8

    Mới kiếm được đây, mời các cụ xơi.

    Các file đính kèm:

    antigone, pthanhhoa, utitgg and 2 others like this.

Chia sẻ trang này