Fantasy The Dresden Files series (#1~#14) - Jim Butcher

Thảo luận trong 'Sách tiếng nước ngoài' bắt đầu bởi Heoconmtv, 23/9/15.

  1. Heoconmtv

    Heoconmtv Moderator Thành viên BQT

    01 - Storm Front.jpg
    Storm Front
    The Dresden Files (Book 1)

    Tác giả: Jim Butcher
    Nhà xuất bản: ROC
    Năm xuất bản: 2000
    Số trang: 372
    Ngôn ngữ: tiếng Anh
    Giá bán: $22,46
    ISBN-10: 0451457811
    ISBN-13: 978-0451457813
    Định dạng file: epub; mobi


    As in the audio adaptation of Butcher's first Dresden Files novel, Storm Front, Marsters (who played Spike on Buffy the Vampire Slayer) slips easily into the role of down-on-his-luck wizard Harry Dresden. Marsters's self-deprecating tone fits the character perfectly; he reads with a dry, ironic humor that doesn't mask Harry's genuine concern for the lives of innocents.

    Marsters also displays a remarkable skill for lending even the strangest characters and creatures voices-including gentleman gangster Johnny Marconi, his henchmen, a sexy female werewolf and Bob, the British-accented talking skull. In this outing, Harry is again out of cash, and police detective Karrin Murphy, who's still angry at him over the events of the first book, isn't inclined to throw work his way.

    But soon a series of mysterious, violent murders sends her to Harry for help. Are the killings the work of a local motorcycle gang? Or a werewolf-and if so, which werewolf? Mac Finn, the werewolf environmentalist? The group of idealistic college kids who voluntarily become werewolves by night? Or the trigger-happy group of FBI agents turned werewolf vigilantes? Though the price of this audio package may put off some listeners, Marsters's lively telling makes it worth every penny.

    Review

    "An exciting debut novel... Wish I'd thought of this myself. Try it. You'll like it." -- Glen Cook, author of Faded Steel Heat

    "Exciting, well-plotted, complex, an excellent read and amazingly good first novel." -- Chris Bunch, author of The Warrior King

    About author

    Jim Butcher read his first fantasy novel when he was seven years old-- the Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe. By the time he turned eight, he'd added the rest of the Narnia books, the Prydain Chronicles, every book about Star Wars he could find, a great many Star Trek novels and the Lord of the Rings to his count.

    Jim stands accused of writing the Dresden Files and the Codex Alera. He's plead insanity, but the jury is still out on that one. He lives in Missouri with his wife, romantic suspense and paranormal romance writer Shannon K. Butcher (who is really pretty and way out of his league), his son, and a ferocious guard dog.
     

    Các file đính kèm:

    Chỉnh sửa cuối: 2/10/15
    pthanhhoa thích bài này.
  2. Heoconmtv

    Heoconmtv Moderator Thành viên BQT

    02 - Fool Moon.jpg
    Storm Front
    The Dresden Files (Book 2)
    Tác giả: Jim Butcher
    Nhà xuất bản: ROC
    Năm xuất bản: 2001
    Số trang: 432
    Ngôn ngữ: tiếng Anh
    Giá bán: $77,77
    ISBN-10: 0451458125
    ISBN-13: 978-0451458124
    Định dạng file: epub; mobi


    Could a werewolf be loose in Chicago? Common sense says no. The grisly evidence says yes. So does Harry Dresden. And with his weird connections, he should know.

    Review

    A fun new occult mystery series. -- Locus

    A really enjoyable read...Jim Butcher strikes just the right narrative balance between wizard and wiseguy, mystic and mobster. -- Lynn Flewelling, author of Traitor's Moon

    A very promising start to a news series...unusually well-crafted. -- Locus

    Exciting, well-plotted, complex, an excellent read and amazingly good first novel. -- Chris Bunch, author of The Warrior King

    Fans of Laurel K. Hamilton and Tanya Huff will love this series. -- Harriet Klausner, BookBrowser

    Fans of Laurell K. Hamilton and Tanya Huff will love this new fantasy series. -- BookBrowser

    Good luck putting the book down, I know I couldn't. -- Fan Attic

    Harry is a remarkable character...With more novels like this gem, Jim Butcher will not need magic to become a household name. -- BookBrowser

    Try it, you'll like it. An exciting debut novel suggesting there are wizards and witches among us... wish I'd thought of it myself. -- Glen Cook, author of Faded Steel Hat

    About the Author

    A martial arts enthusiast whose resume includes a long list of skills rendered obsolete at least two hundred years ago, Jim Butcher turned to writing as a career because anything else probably would have driven him insane. He lives with his wife, his son and a ferocious guard dog.
     

    Các file đính kèm:

    Chỉnh sửa cuối: 2/10/15
    pthanhhoa thích bài này.
  3. Heoconmtv

    Heoconmtv Moderator Thành viên BQT

    03 - Grave Peril.jpg
    Grave Peril
    The Dresden Files (Book 3)
    Tác giả: Jim Butcher
    Nhà xuất bản: ROC
    Năm xuất bản: 2001
    Số trang: 378
    Ngôn ngữ: tiếng Anh
    Giá bán: $22,46
    ISBN-10: 0451458443
    ISBN-13: 978-0451458445
    Định dạng file: epub; mobi


    Wizard Harry Dresden stars in the third installment of the Dresden Files (following Fool Moon), a haunting, fantastical novel that begins almost as innocently as those of another famous literary wizard named Harry. In the opening scene, Dresden and his knight friend, Michael, battle the ghost of a woman who is terrorizing a local hospital's maternity ward. From there, the novel quickly evolves into an unorthodox tale spiced with sexual innuendo and subtle humor (Dresden carries his ghost-hunting gear in an old Scooby-Doo lunch box).

    Due to the weakened barrier between the spirit world which Butcher refers to as "the nevernever" and the actual world, obsessive and violent ghosts are on the loose in modern-day Chicago, and they seem to be targeting Dresden and Michael. Horny vampires and possessive demons join the mix as Dresden journeys into the spirit world to hunt down the villains who are terrorizing him and his friends. Butcher narrates Dresden's story in the first person, which limits the amount of detail he can inject into the lives of his secondary characters.

    Despite this narrow point of view, Butcher successfully lends human dimensions to vampires and spirits through his vivid descriptions and colloquial dialogue. (Sept.)Forecast: A vivid cover showing glowing barbed wire wrapped around a pair of cemetery gates is misleading as is a cover quote appealing to fans of Laurell K. Hamilton and Tanya Huff but it will catch the browser's eye. This over-the-top tale is more likely to entertain young adult readers than fans of the aforementioned authors.

    Review

    A fun new occult mystery series. Unusually well crafted. -- Locus

    Fans of Laurell K. Hamilton and Tanya Huff will love this new fantasy series. -- Midwest Book Review
     

    Các file đính kèm:

    Chỉnh sửa cuối: 2/10/15
    pthanhhoa thích bài này.
  4. Heoconmtv

    Heoconmtv Moderator Thành viên BQT

    04 - Summer Knight.jpg
    Summer Knight
    The Dresden Files (Book 4)

    Tác giả: Jim Butcher
    Nhà xuất bản: ROC

    Năm xuất bản: 2002
    Số trang: 371
    Ngôn ngữ: tiếng Anh
    Giá bán: $23,10
    ISBN-10: 0451458923
    ISBN-13: 978-0451458926
    Định dạng file: epub; mobi


    Private detective/wizard-for-hire Harry Dresden is suckered into tangling in the affairs of Faerie, where the fate of the entire world-and his soul-are at stake.

    Review

    Highly recommended SFFWorld.com Fast paced and tightly plotted, Summer Knight delivers the kind of action-packed adventure Jim Butcher's fans have come to expect SFSite.com Arguably the finest urban fantasy series being written at the moment Bookgeeks.co.uk
     

    Các file đính kèm:

    Chỉnh sửa cuối: 2/10/15
    pthanhhoa thích bài này.
  5. Heoconmtv

    Heoconmtv Moderator Thành viên BQT

    05 - Death Masks.jpg
    Death Masks
    The Dresden Files (Book 5)
    Tác giả: Jim Butcher
    Nhà xuất bản: ROC
    Năm xuất bản: 2003

    Số trang: 464
    Ngôn ngữ: tiếng Anh
    Giá bán: $26,61
    ISBN-10: 0451459407
    ISBN-13: 978-0451459404
    Định dạng file: epub; mobi


    Harry Dresden is not having a good day. A vampire named Ortega is hunting the beleaguered wizard, intending to challenge him to a duel that, Ortega claims, will end the war between the vampires and the wizards. Harry has almost no hope of winning the duel, but soon he is preoccupied by another problem: Father Vincent, a priest, needs Harry's help in finding the Shroud of Turin, stolen by a trio of thieves. Harry traces two of the thieves to his hometown, Chicago, but when he finds them, he learns that he isn't the only one after them. A group of terrifying demons wants the shroud, and its leader is interested in Harry's soul, too. Harry must call on all of his friends, including three brave knights, his police-officer friend, and even his half-vampire ex-girlfriend, Susan. Butcher maintains a breakneck pace in Harry's exciting fifth adventure. This imaginative series continues to surprise and delight with its inventiveness and sympathetic hero.

    Review

    Butcher maintains a breakneck pace Booklist Inventive storylines, dark supernatural themes, edge-of-your-seat adventure, strong characterizations, and irreverent humour ... Everything works SFSite.com This imaginative series continues to surprise and delight Booklist.
     

    Các file đính kèm:

    Chỉnh sửa cuối: 2/10/15
    pthanhhoa thích bài này.
  6. Heoconmtv

    Heoconmtv Moderator Thành viên BQT

    06 - Blood Rites.jpg
    Death Masks
    The Dresden Files (Book 6)
    Tác giả: Jim Butcher
    Nhà xuất bản: ROC
    Năm xuất bản: 2010

    Số trang: 465
    Ngôn ngữ: tiếng Anh
    Giá bán: $200
    ISBN-10: 0451459407
    ISBN-13: 978-0451459404
    Định dạng file: epub; mobi


    Per usual, wizard-detective extraordinaire Harry Dresden is in trouble. He barely escapes an assassination attempt, courtesy of the Black Council of vampires, when Thomas, a vampire who has helped Harry out on occasion, asks him to take a case. It seems someone doesn't want porno film director Arturo Genosa's latest effort to get off the ground. An entropy spell has killed two of Arturo's assistants, and Thomas wants Harry to find the culprit. With suspects abounding--Arturo has no fewer than three ex-wives--Harry decides to pose as a production assistant at the studio. Though he isn't able to stop another sabotage attempt, this one threatening an actress' life, he does save the young woman. With danger closing in, the last thing Harry needs is a sexy succubus and a surprising revelation about his heritage. Filled with sizzling magic and intrigue as well as important developments for Harry, the latest of his adventures will have fans rapidly turning the pages.

    Review

    "Edge-of-your-seat adventure." — SF Site

    "This imaginative series continues to surprise and delight with its inventiveness and sympathetic hero." — Booklist

    "Good fun for fans of dary fantasy mystery." — Locus

    ""As usual in Butcher's books, the action begins on page one and moves rapidly from there." — Best Reviews
     

    Các file đính kèm:

    Chỉnh sửa cuối: 2/10/15
    pthanhhoa thích bài này.

Chia sẻ trang này